top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlida

LEAF Shave Safety Razor


UGH. I am 33 years old and have been shaving my legs since I was 13. DO YOU KNOW how many plastic razors I have embarrassingly gone through? It makes me ill to think about it. Because I have nothing else to do besides shop online during quarantine, I've been looking for more ethical, sustainable and green products for around the house. I came across the Leaf Shave website and was instantly intrigued; they claim "No waste. No plastic. Just a perfect shave every time."


I. Cannot. Stand. Stubble. Thus, I was praying this system would work for me because I'd be using it a lot. It's not cheap but it's an investment. I ordered the Starter Bundle that comes with the razor (mine is gold because I'm bougie AF), 50 blades (100 edges), a razor stand and a safety tin to store the used blades. It comes with a 30 day guarantee and a LIFETIME warranty on the razor itself. The total to ship to Canada (standard 3 day)? $153.00 CDN


So, what makes them so special? The razors are customizable, using three slots where it can hold 1-3 edges, depending on the type of shave you want. Each blade is wrapped. You snap the blades in half in the paper so there's no worry about getting cut. Then I unscrew the back of the razor, put my edges in (3 for me) and start the process. You know.


I was very hesitant at first because I'm used to blades being wrapped in a plastic frame with a useless conditioning strip. With no plastic buffer I was scared of tiny cuts but I'm happy to report that I have none. The razor itself is heavy enough in my hand that it feels sturdy but not bogged down. I do wish that there was a silicone grip or something because using it in the shower had me nervous. Luckily, the company is working on something for that.


The shave was close but felt totally different from a disposable razor, there was no tugging or pulling on my skin. The shave time was a fraction of the time longer, but more than likely because I was so cautious and worked so slowly. Overall, it was an enjoyable experience (as enjoyable as a tedious task can be). When I got out of the shower I noticed a huge difference: the bumps on my legs were smooth, my skin felt like butter and there was ZERO irritation. It's been three days and I can't feel any stubble. My husband said it's the smoothest my legs have been in ten years. I was offended but happy. He's gonna pay for that one.


Overall, it's been a great adventure and I'm already happy with the investment I've made. I'm happy with the quality, the sustainability (the blades are special recycled where I live) and the experience.



58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page