top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlida

Perfect Pavlova



After 10 years together I just found out that my husband ranks the pavlova as his number one dessert. So not the ice cream, cakes, brownies and tarts that he always asks me for. Oh, marriage. When I told him I could whip up a pavlova in less than two hours he was shocked and didn't believe me... so naturally I took that as a challenge and proved that I could do it. This recipe is incredibly simple in its ingredients but big in flavour. The end result is a dreamy, crispy outer meringue with a marshmallow, subtle centre. I love that it's easily adaptable; think figs, or mango and peaches and completely easy enough that my kids can help.


Ingredients

4 egg whites (room temperature)

1 cup caster sugar (or granulated, milled in a food processor)

1/2 tsp white vinegar (+ 1 tbs separately for cleaning your bowl)

1/2 tsp vanilla

1.5 tsp corn starch


Directions

Wipe out a mixing bowl and whisk attachment with vinegar so there is no chance of residue inside. Add four egg whites to the bowl and begin whipping on medium-low until frothy. I used my stand mixer but you can definitely use your hand mixer, it just takes a little longer. When your whites begin getting frothy and bubbly, add your sugar in slowly, one spoonful at a time.



I would typically use caster sugar, because it's finer and easier to dissolve in the egg whites but if not, you can blend your sugar in a food processor to make the granules smaller.



Add the vanilla and white vinegar as your whites begin to get glossy, after 5 mins or so. Stop your mixer to see if your sugar is dissolving. Slowly fold in your corn starch and keep whipping until the sugar is fully dissolved in the egg whites and stiff peaks have formed.



Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. I draw a 9-inch circle on mine so that I have a rough shape to base my pavlova, this is optional. If you DO write on your parchment, make sure you flip it over so that the actual dessert is not touching the pen/marker line. Using a spatula or spoon, dollop your mixture onto your parchment. 9 inches will make for a slightly lower pavlova but 7 or 8 inches would make for very thick slices. Do as you wish!



I make mine slightly more concave in the middle so that the toppings have a little nook to rest in, like a bowl. Don't be precious with it, make it look smooth or rustic, whatever you want!



Place your pavlova on the middle rack in the oven, close the door and immediately drop he temperature to 230 degrees F. After 45 minutes, check the pavlova to make sure the outside is stiff, it is okay if there are cracks! Turn off the oven and open the door slightly to allow the temperature to drop gradually. Once the oven is almost room temperature, take out your pavlova and let it cool completely.



Then, top as you wish! I make whipped cream and add an abundance of fresh fruit. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of our homemade mixed berry jam. You can do whatever you want (my kids always want to put sprinkles on it). Serve cooled, in slices. The pavlova will keep for two days in the fridge in an airtight container.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page