top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlida

Quarantine Meal Ideas

Is anyone else's kids eating twice their body weight in groceries? I'm used to having breakfast with my kids, packing their lunch/snacks for school and making dinner but this quarantine appetite they've developed is insane! My kids never stop moving (or talking) from the moment they wake up. We're always going for walks or playing in the front yard or jumping on the trampoline in the backyard. Plus, they have the entire basement and a second living room for them to make forts, do crafts and to create obstacle courses. I didn't know it was possible for two tiny humans to eat so much. Here are the five lunches we had last week.


1. Snack plate: I find my youngest eats better when she has a small variety of snacks for lunch. It keeps her and her tastebuds engaged and I don't have to worry about the nutritional factor. This plate is easy: rolled cold cuts, vegetables and hummus, cheese cubes and strawberries. This is one of their favourites because my husband and I wash all of the fruits and vegetables on the weekend when we do groceries so when it's time to eat during the week the kids get to choose (and help assemble) their own lunch. I like it for the variety, speed and the lack of cooking.



2. Protein and veggies: Another favorite because the kids choose which vegetables they like. My kids have their particular favourite vegetables so sometimes they choose the same thing all week. I don't care as long as they're getting nutrients. I always pair it with a protein, sometimes leftover salmon or we open a tin of tuna.



3. Leftovers: Certain leftovers are better than others. The kids like short ribs, steak bites, or chicken drumsticks the most because I can slather it in homemade sauce and they can get messy with their hands. It makes it fun for lunch when somehow dinner felt like a chore. I pair it with white or brown rice, sesame seeds (which they eat individually and it takes forever) and some type of quick vegetable (cucumbers or green onions).



4. Quick fried rice: Using leftovers I cut up a protein from the night before, toss in some frozen veggies and mix it all in with brown rice and a dash of soy sauce and sesame oil. My kids DIE for rice so this meal is never a problem. It's always paired with a fresh vegetable and some more protein (either egg in the rice or chopped chicken).



5. Sandwiches: They're still a mess to assemble and everyone likes something different but they're delicious with the right ingredients. This one had lettuce, mustard, prosciutto (leftover from the pasta we made), habanero cheese and a baby thin slice of apple. We like to mix up the ingredients (use some of the cold cuts from Monday's meal or include a swipe of hummus) to use what we have left from the whole week. Either way, the possibilities are endless and when the kids choose their ingredients (Woo! An activity to do!) they're all the more likely to finish it.



I hope these ideas helped you out. If you want any more, let me know! Maybe I'll post a few times a month. Happy Quarantine time!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page