top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlida

Korean Short Ribs



When we go out to eat, especially in the winter, I find few things as comforting as short ribs. They're warm, juicy and so flavourful. I don't know what took me so long to try to make them on my own, I always order take-out. But they're not as daunting as I thought! They're pretty simple and take just a few minutes to cook so I have no idea what I was afraid of. I encourage you to try these as soon as you can because they're a new staple in our home. Note: You can even do all of the prep in a plastic bag but I try to eliminate as much waste as possible.

Ingredients:

1 medium white onion

4 cloves garlic

3/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup teriyaki sauce

1 tbs grated ginger

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tbs paprika

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1 tbs vegetable oil

2 tbs sesame oil

2 sliced scallions (for garnish)



Directions:

Add onions and garlic to bottom of pan. Pour soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, grated ginger into bowl and whisk to combine until the sugar dissolves, then pour it over the short ribs. Sprinkle with dry spices. Cover it and leave them in the fridge. I used a large, shallow baking pan so I turned the short ribs and shook up the marinade every few hours but this can all be dumped together in a plastic bag if you wish.



Refrigerate 7 to 12 hours; the longer, the better.


Preheat your grill to medium-high heat. It was January when I made these so I used my indoor grill pan. Lightly coat with a mix of sesame oil and vegetable oil.




Remove ribs from the marinade, shake off excess. You can throw away the marinade at this point, you won't need it again. Cook on grill until the meat is no longer pink, 5 to 7 minutes per side. I cooked it for aprox 3 minutes, them flipped it, cooked for 3 minutes, flipped it, then finished it for a minute on each side.


I serve these with a sprinkling of shallots over the top, over rice or with a mango salad.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page