top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlida

Chocolate Walnut Biscotti


Is anyone baking their lives away while practicing social distancing? Thank God I hoard flour and sugar so I haven''t run out of my basic supplies yet. I get bored easily and constantly feel the need to be productive or doing something. Besides all of the baking and cooking I did for Easter, I felt the overwhelming need to make biscotti for the first time. Lord knows, when I get something in my head I have to do it. Here's the recipe I used to make my chocolate walnut biscotti that we eat for breakfast, as a snack or after dinner for dessert... because it's always a good idea.


Ingredients

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1/3 cup + 2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup minus 1 teaspoon sugar

6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

3 large eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cups walnut pieces


Directions

Line baking sheet with 2 sheets of parchment or foil. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream butter and sugar together 3-5 minutes until well combined with a hand or stand mixer. Add eggs one at a time until fully incorporated. Slowly add dry ingredients, minus the nuts. Turn off mixer and fold in walnuts by hand.



With wet or very floured hands, remove half of the dough and shape into a log. Spread the other half of the dough into a log 3 inches from the first. Leave in fridge to rest for 45 minutes.



Remove from fridge and place in oven to bake for 30-35 minutes (the first time I did this I was afraid of burning so I didn't leave it in enough). Drop oven temperature to 300 degrees F then remove biscotti from oven and remove from baking sheet by lifting the top layer of parchment, with the dough, onto a wire rack or a flat work surface. Allow to cool 15-20 minutes.



Cut on a diagonal, about 1 inch in thickness, I find a serrated knife works best. Lay the biscotti on it's side on the second piece of parchment paper. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove baking tray from oven, flip biscotti over and bake for a final 8-10 minutes.



You want it to be dry when you press on it. Remove baking tray from oven to cool. Can be stored in a sealed container for up to a week.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page