top of page
  • Alida

Chicken Paprikash


"Waiter, there is too much pepper on my paprikash."

This quote in When Harry Met Sally was the first time I had ever heard of chicken paprikash. In all of my trial and error recipes, even though I quote this movie often, I never thought to make it until it arrived in my GoodFood box.

I started by cutting the potatoes into 2 inch pieces so that they cooked faster. Next I seasoned my chicken with salt and pepper. I let the chicken marinate a bit as I prepped the rest of my vegetables & herbs - red peppers, onions, mushrooms and parsley.

I cooked my chicken and made sure to get a good brown sear. As it cooked I drained my potatoes and mashed them with a few of my own variations - splashes of milk, a teaspoon of butter and a sprinkle of garlic salt.

Once the chicken was fully cooked I removed it to rest. I added the onions to the pan and cooked them just until translucent. I added the paprika spice blend and vegetables and cooked until browned. From here add the tomatoes, sour cream (mixed with parsley) and I seasoned it with a bit more salt and pepper. I let that simmer and put the chicken back in the pan. When complete we served it warm over the mashed potatoes.

Unlike the recipe suggests, I added all of the sour cream into the sauce instead of dolloping half of it on top. It makes the sauce delicious and a bit creamy. I loved that this box came with a meal we'd never eaten before but with flavours and ingredients that my family was familiar with and enjoyed.

Next time I make this, either with GoodFood or not, I will add more black pepper or smoky paprika (this recipe calls for sweet paprika, which we don't often have in the house) to amp up the spiciness. It wasn't bland but I'd like to try it with a bit more heat to it.

Final verdict: GREAT box. It made enough for lunch for our family and three ample servings for lunch the next day.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page