top of page
  • Alida

GoodFood Review: Pork Souvlaki


The first meal we tried by GoodFood was the pork souvlaki pitas. We figured that the kids would enjoy at least the meat, hummus and pita if they didn't eat too much of the salad. Here's my rundown on this recipe with my variations on it.

It's suggested that we chop and organize first (mise en place) but I chose to cut and marinate my pork first to maximize the time and maximize flavour. I washed all of my vegetables but decided against chopping the spinach - baby spinach is small enough.

While the pork cooked, which was pretty quickly due to the small size of the pieces, I made the vinaigrette with the included vinegar, lemon and my own olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Once the pork was off of the stove I let it rest, toasted the pitas and tossed the salad. The assembly took no time at all, it was just a matter of adding hummus to the pitas, stuffing it with salad and meat and then enjoying dinner.

All in all, we were sitting down to eat in 45 minutes from start to finish. The prep took the longest, about 20 minutes, but to be fair I had the kids calling me constantly so I took a few breaks. This recipe was simple and to be honest, I've made more complex dinners before but it was convenient to not think about what I wanted for dinner, if I remembered to grab the groceries for the meal (we don't always have pitas or lemons on hand) and to not have to run to the store if we needed something. I also liked that we made our own dressing and didn't rely on anything from a bottle. We were full after eating dinner, and we had enough pork and salad leftover to take for lunch the next day - which is a HUGE bonus and always a concern. My only caveat? I would have preferred if it came with tzatziki. What is Greek food without it?

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page