top of page
  • Alida

GoodFood Good Meals?


Being a mom of two kids has made me busier than I have ever been in my life. Between school, child care, work, extra-curricular activities and volunteer commitments I still have to find time to actually play with my kids and make memories with them (the most important part of my life), take care of myself and, just as importantly, nurture my relationship with my husband. It's a balance, that's for sure. My utmost respect has always gone out to those single parents out there.

This year I've been looking at little shortcuts to make our lives easier - sometimes it's just laying out clothes for us all days in advance to embracing Amazon Prime (probably a bit too much - sorry husband) to building a family calendar to keep track of activities and social events. The latest has been to subscribe to GoodFood, a Canadian meal service that delivers right to your door. We chose 2 meals with 4 servings from the family plan. There are also vegetarian selections, easy prep or classic meals with different portion sizes.

I had a few requirements when I researched meal subscriptions:

1. Eco-friendly: Every subscription service has a footprint but I found that during the week my husband or I would be running out for groceries we forgot (or went bad... one day my cream was curdled a DAY after I bought it and it still had two weeks before it was "expired") or ordering food on busy weeknights (who decided swimming lessons on a MONDAY was a good idea?). We wanted a food service that was available as close to home as possible and would cut out the extra runs to Longos or the drive-thru. Also, every single thing is recyclable and very compact so I don't worry as much about the waste we're creating.

2. Sustainability: All of GoodFood's items are locally sourced so we know it's coming from Canadian farmers, not far from us. This cuts down on travel, the carbon footprint and means our food stays fresher for longer.

3. Cost: All of these subscription services are pricey but at least with GoodFood we were able to try the first week free, the second week at a discount and then we can work from there. We'll have to try it for a few weeks to see if we cut down on grocery costs as long as we plan ahead (just like every other aspect of our lives). I'll keep you updated.

4. Flavour & Health: Look, I have to feed 4 people with different tastebuds. My kids will basically eat anything but I still want the food to be tasty and not off-putting for them. Could you imagine if my girls were picky? The food has to be good enough to want more and to want to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day. GoodFood offers up to six meal choices per week with a range of cooking times and caloric counts.

As I blog more about GoodFood (and any other services we try) I will keep you guys updated on pros/cons and how it's all working out for us. Talk to you soon!

*MUAH*

Please note that this post is NOT sponsored but if you click this link you can get a $40 discount, just like I did from a nice neighbour of mine: https://www.makegoodfood.ca/referred-by/513248

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page