top of page
  • Alida

Products I love: Empties


Hello! Our resident beauty junkie here! I was recently talking to a cousin of mine who asked me for a list of my tried-and-true beauty products. While I have a lot, I noticed that I was running empty on quite a few of them and decided to do this product empties post. One, because I love reading other people's posts on empties and two, because then you know that the things I recommend are not one-time use products. I use these constantly, pretty much daily and I hope you get some new product knowledge from this post. 

1. Garnier SkinActive Micellar Water - This one has 50/50 reviews online but I'm in love with it. I have combination skin so this works all over but it also comes in sensitive, for oily skin or for waterproof makeup. I use it to remove my makeup at the end of the day and to refresh my skin in the morning. I enjoy it so much and it works so well that I upgraded to the big bottle. 

2. Beauty Blender - A relatively new item for me, it came in my FabFitFun Fall box. I thought I could get away with using dupes and cheaper sponges for the rest of my life but it's true what they say, NOTHING is as good as the original. I now use this every day to apply foundation, concealer and powder. I cannot live without it so I'm about to stock up on some new ones. I think the holiday pack is calling me. 

3. Revlon Photoready Concealer - I have been using this concealer for maybe a decade? I literally scoop all of the concealer out when I get to the bottom. It's creamy but sets like a dream with a setting powder. It doesn't crease or flake off. I like the stick application because I can use it in a quick motion and it's great for contour. I'm colour 004 in the winter and 005 in the summer but the biggest downfall is that it only comes in 6 colours. 

4.  Philosophy Blackberry Musk Conditioner - Okay okay, full disclosure: this scent is discontinued and this was my last bottle left... I was reduced to a sample size. However, I included it because I love Philosophy conditioner; it keeps my hair soft, light and smelling great for awhile. 

5. The Body Shop Drops of Youth Concentrate Serum -  The best serum for my skin, lightly absorbed and with a fresh but not perfumed scent. It is non-comedogenic so it doesn't block my pores and doesn't irritate my skin. I only recently started using serum on my skin and I love how smooth and refreshed this makes my skin. After a week of using it I noticed that my skin had a glow to it without anything on.

6. Garnier SkinActive Moisture Rescue Daily Lotion - I'm a huge SPF fan, even in the winter so SPF 15 is better than nothing. This lotion is light and glides on my skin smoothly. It takes no time to absorb and I can feel a difference in my skin. It took so much trial and error to find a daily moisturizer that I love and this is perfect, I've been using it for years. Mine has a light scent but I also love the fragrance-free one (when I can find it). 

7. The Body Shop Olive Body Butter - I have a thing about creams and lotions; they can't be too watery, I hate thick ones that are like a DQ ice cream and if it leaves even the slightest film I donate it to someone else. This mini jar is what I use on my hands constantly throughout the day. It has a light scent and is very moisturizing, in just a few days you'll notice a huge difference in your skin and cuticles (can we give our cuticles more love, people?).  While I'd prefer if it came in a pump, I use it mainly after I've washed my hands in the bathroom so I think it stays relatively sanitary. The best bonus? It's made with community trade olive oil from Italy and shea & cocoa butter from Ghana. It's also not tested on animals. I can't love it enough - I always buy it in twos and literally use it until I've scraped the container clean.

I do have other top shelf items that I use so I'll be updating the blog with more posts like this in the future. Keep in mind, everything here that I have can be recycled for future use as I'm trying to reduce my waste as much as possible. 

Disclaimer: 

This post is 100% NOT SPONSORED but if you are interested in subscribing or just getting one seasonal FabFitFun box to try, you can use code FALLINLOVE with this link for $10 off: https://t.fabfitfun.com/aff_c?offer_id=13&aff_id=18696

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page