top of page
  • Naf

Plant Rant: Monstera Deliciosa


I currently live in Connecticut with the love of my life, our dog and approximately fifty plants. To some, that may sound like a lot of plants but to others that sounds like a measly amount and sometimes when I repot or rearrange my plant babies it really does look measly. I started my collection of plant beauties in the middle of winter, when I was preparing to have a garden in our backyard however, living in Zone 6* meant I had to hold off for a couple months. I think I was also looking for something to care for a little more, to watch something grow and surprise me... it also kept my mind busy and learning.

My first plant was a pilea cadierei and I absolutely love how it grows with its shiny leaves and silver accents. Since then, my collection has grown.

I'm a big fan of Golden Girls, ever since I was a little girl. It would always be playing in my granny's apartment when we got home from school, I grew up and invested in the DVD's and now I watch it religiously on Hulu. In Blanche's living room and in many different scenes you'll notice they have a very green plant that has holes in the leaves - a monstera deliciosa. I know, it sounds like something from Harry Potter.

Monstera Deliciosa's are tropical plants also known as the Swiss cheese plant. From my experience, they're pretty hard to come by in New England and when you do find them they range upwards of $80 for a four to six inch pot, that's a little outrageous in my mind. I follow a lot of planty people on social media and a lady that I completely envy showed that she had a cutting of her monstera that was starting to grow strong roots in water.

So what did I do? I asked her to send it to me and she totally did. This lovely lady has officially aided my plant addiction! I had her potted in a ceramic green pot with a well draining soil comprised of perlite, indoor potting soil and Bumper Crop Organic Soil Builder (see my gardening tools post).

This is Cadence, our dog - attempting to eat the newest leaf.

ISN'T THIS LEAF BEAUTIFUL AND MAGNIFICENT?!

Since I have received this green beauty, her one leaf has unfurled and her soil has remained moist and has attracted fungus gnats (small flies that infest soil and feed off of it's organic composition). I sprayed a water/vinegar/soap mixture for multiple days on the top layer of soil to help get rid of the gnats and any babies they may have produced. I let the top of the soil dry out a bit then added sand on the top because gnats can't feed off of the sand. I feel as though she's doing well, I'll keep everyone posted.

Sand, sun, my favourite plant and girl.

*Zone 6 is in reference to the USDA Hardiness Zone, it lets gardeners and growers know which plants would thrive in a particular environment.

You can find out your Canadian Zone here: http://planthardiness.gc.ca

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page